Professional Service

The MCEC Board of Director’s annually awards the Dr. William Cruickshank Award. This award is our highest professional honor and is chosen by MCEC’s Board of Directors. 

This award is the highest award given by the Michigan Council for Exceptional Children and was named for a pioneer in special education. The award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the education of children with exceptionalities.

Nomination packets must be submitted by December 16, 2016.


Electronic form for Dr. William Cruickshank Award

Dr. Shinsky, Professor of Education, is currently serving as Interim Dean of the College of Education at Grand Valley State University in Grand Rapids, MI. Dr. Shinsky spent three decades as an educator and administrator in the Lansing Public School District as a Special Education classroom teacher, building administrator, Director of Special Education, and Area Director.

 John Shinsky

Interim Dean, Professor Grand Valley State University